Page 1 of 1

Bug in CS4 resizeImage?

Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:28 pm
by Dropbear67
Hi All.. I have a script I've been using in CS3 to export images in Full Size JPEG and then 1200 pixels on longest axis).

The script basically 'hangs' at the call to rezizeImage. RAM usage goes to max and it basically does nothing ..

The line in question causing the hang is
Code: Select alldoc.resizeImage(undefined, newImgSize, undefined, ResampleMethod.BICUBICSHARPER)



I've tried using ResampleMethod.NONE but it doesnt make any difference.


Full script is below.

Code: Select all// SaveJPEG.js
//  some code and resources found on internet
//
//
odoc = app.activeDocument;
var doc = app.activeDocument.duplicate();
//
doc.convertProfile("sRGB IEC61966-2.1",Intent.RELATIVECOLORIMETRIC,true,true);
app.displayDialogs = DialogModes.NO;
//
var filePath = decodeURI(odoc.path);
var fileName = decodeURI(odoc.name).slice(0,-4);
//Set restore pointvar savedState = doc.activeHistoryState;
//
// Produce the full size jpeg image in 10 quality
SaveFile = new File(filePath + "/" + fileName + "_FullSize.jpg");
SaveJPEG(SaveFile,12);
//
// call subroutine to resize to 1200 pixels on widest axis
fitImage(1200);
//
// Produce the 1200 pixel jpeg in 10 quality
SaveFile = new File(filePath + "/" + fileName + "_1200.jpg");
SaveJPEG(SaveFile,12);

// call subroutine to resize to 400 pixels on widest axis for thumbnails
//fitImage(400);
// Produce the thumbnail in 7 quality
//SaveFile = new File(filePath + "/" + fileName + "_Thumb.jpg");
//SaveJPEG(SaveFile,7);

doc.close(SaveOptions.DONOTSAVECHANGES);
alert("Image Saved!");


function fitImage(newImgSize) {   
    var doc = app.activeDocument; 
      if (doc.width > doc.height) {   
         doc.resizeImage(newImgSize, undefined, undefined, ResampleMethod.BICUBICSHARPER)   
         }   
      if (doc.width < doc.height) {             
         doc.resizeImage(undefined, newImgSize, undefined, ResampleMethod.BICUBICSHARPER)   
        }         
     if (doc.width == doc.height) {             
        doc.resizeImage(newImgSize, newImgSize, undefined, ResampleMethod.NONE)             
        }         
     }   

function SaveJPEG(saveFile, jpegQuality){
   jpgSaveOptions = new JPEGSaveOptions()
   jpgSaveOptions.embedColorProfile = true
   jpgSaveOptions.formatOptions = FormatOptions.STANDARDBASELINE
   jpgSaveOptions.matte = MatteType.NONE
   jpgSaveOptions.quality = jpegQuality //1-12
   app.activeDocument.saveAs(saveFile, jpgSaveOptions, true,Extension.LOWERCASE)
}



Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Bug in CS4 resizeImage?

Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:18 pm
by kevmann16
Anyone found a solution for this, my script was hanging during png saving but after a morning of googling and searching this forum I found this post, then after commenting out activeDocument.resizeImage(w,h) it runs perfectly.

Bug in CS4 resizeImage?

Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:48 pm
by xbytor
Code: Select alldoc.resizeImage(undefined, 1200, undefined, ResampleMethod.BICUBICSHARPER)

I just tried this and it works. I have my ruler units set to pixels in my PS prefs. If you have your units set to inches or percent, you might get some unusual behaviour.

This should work regardless of what you default ruler units are:

Code: Select alldoc.resizeImage(undefined, UnitValue(1200, "px"), undefined, ResampleMethod.BICUBICSHARPER)

-X

Bug in CS4 resizeImage?

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:57 am
by clarke
remember it used to be Help > Resize Image
but that isnt there in cs4 any ideas where it is?

thanks

Bug in CS4 resizeImage?

Posted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:48 am
by lukasz
clarke wrote:remember it used to be Help > Resize Image
but that isnt there in cs4 any ideas where it is?

thanks

its in image > image size