Panel not reading XML file in PS, works in browser

General Discussion of Scripting for Flex, Flash & CS SDK

Moderators: Tom, Kukurykus

bdeshazer

Post by bdeshazer »

I'm new to Flash Builder/Flex (as in, I started working with both yesterday). I'm using Flash Builder 4 downloaded yesterday from Adobe.

I wanted to build a custom PS panel so I worked my way through a couple of the Panel Developer's Guide examples and then proceeded to try and build my own. When working through the examples I could not get them to work if I created the project using Flex 4.1 but specifying Flex 3.5 worked so that is what I've been using.

For my panel I'm reading a local xml file that I created and that is in the same folder as my swf (bin-debug) and binding one of the fields to a combobox control and another to a listbox control. I used the "Data Services" option in Flash Builder to create the connection to the XML file, and it created a "services.myname" package with a _Super_ class and a sub-class, but I haven't done anything with those. The data shows up just fine when the swf runs in a browser using the "Run" menu option from Flash Builder.

When I copy the SWF and the XML file to Plug-ins/Panels/MYPANELFOLDER and then start Photoshop the panel appears with the controls but there is no data in the combobox or the listbox controls.

I'm using PS CS5 and the platform is Mac OSX 10.6. I'm using the CSXSLibrary-2.0-sdk-3.4.swc but that is hopefully a non-issue as I'm not making any CSXS calls yet.

I hope that this is some super-simple fundamental whose concept I'm not grasping yet, and would appreciate any pointers on making this work.

Thank you,

Brent
bdeshazer

Post by bdeshazer »

Still banging my head on this but narrowed the problem down to a problem reading the xml file from the local file system. If I post the XML file up on a web site and reference it by URL then everything works just fine inside PS.