CS5 scripting and developing

Discussion of Photoshop Scripting, Photoshop Actions and Photoshop Automation in General

Moderators: Tom, Kukurykus

undavide

Post by undavide »

Hello,
this is, I guess, my first post, but I'm a long time lurker: so first let me say thank you for all the code snippets I've stolen - and I'll be stealing in the future.

I'm no real programmer (I mainly do color correction), but I like to put together simple scripts and panels anyway. This year I'll be working side by side with a friend of mine in PS developing and DI processing (he's on the SDK and Obj-C/Cocoa side), so I'm trying to make up my mind and find my way in more serious scripting.

So far I've sticked with JS; I've found intriguing the flash UI, but for compatibility I've used it only for panels.
Now I've heard (here, for instance, and in a couple of other MAX 2009 videos) that with CS5 things are changing. Flash-Flex/Actionscript will become the way to develop. Besides, they said more info about it would have appeared soon after the conference in the Adobe Devnet website, but I wasn't able to find any reference of it. Then, very recently, JNack (in his blog here) said that no, WebKit will be the way to go - (they're keeping " Flash as an option, too" - whether this means they'll be keeping it as an option at release time or they're thinking about it now, it's still obscure to me).

Now, maybe I'm not sufficiently skilled to avoid drowning in all these information; I started some time ago to read documentation about AS and mxml, believing that it would be a nice option while leaving JS (PixelBender would fit, and then AIR apps could be a further developing idea), but now I'm a bit puzzled - to tell the truth, I've never heard about WebKit before reading JNack's post.

So, I'm aware that CS5 is something (far? near?) in the future, but chances are that here I'll find someone who can put together all these pieces and suggest a possible path in CS5 scripting/developing.