Page 1 of 1

Running Photoshop script from Command Prompt

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:44 am
by hezedgodson
Hi,

I am trying to develop a tool, which uses photoshop as a backend to perform Image Manipulation. I can be able to write my own photoshop-script in JavaScript or in Visual Basic. But, I want to know, how I have to execute the script with out opening the Photoshop. It can be either through Command prompt, or by some other way. The primary objective is that Photoshop should act as a service and the GUI should not open when I do the Image Manipulation with the tool.

Thanks in Advance.

Running Photoshop script from Command Prompt

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:08 pm
by andybak
Photoshop will respond to standard OLE automation commands from VB, VBA, .VBScript or any other ActiveScripting language.

Here is some VB script that opens Photoshop hidden.

dim appObj
set appObj = CreateObject( "Photoshop.Application" )

Running Photoshop script from Command Prompt

Posted: Fri May 05, 2006 6:17 pm
by designbychen
andybak, could you clarify a bit more on what you mean by 'hidden'. Doesn't it still load PS into memory (or not)? Or does all PS scripting require opened image files?

Running Photoshop script from Command Prompt

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:30 pm
by dougcody
Hi,

Is there a list of parameters that photoshop/bridge takes upon loading?

I need to run photoshop from the DOS box command line, with a file name and script/batch name. Any ideas? Does bridge have command line parameters?

If you want to know why, read on...

I haea digital camera with 80211G wireless to shoot & drop images in a folder on the computer. I have a batch file to scan for .JPGs and fire off PSCS2 for each jpg. PS, with the script, will format/crop/resize the image, and spit it out to an industrial on-site printer. Voila, shoot & print, in 60 seconds, without human intervention!!!!

But photoshop doesn't run scripts from the command line....

Help!

...Doug

Running Photoshop script from Command Prompt

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:18 pm
by xbytor
Record an action that calls the script. Create a droplet from the action. Call the droplet from the command line with an image file as the sole parameter. The path to the image file probably needs to be an absolute one.

Running Photoshop script from Command Prompt

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:06 pm
by dougcody
Thats it! Works perfectly! Took about 30 seconds..

Thanks

Re: Running Photoshop script from Command Prompt

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 3:08 pm
by LitaMiller
Excellent guide, I always liked this, but I did not know how to do it with Photoshop.