Subscribe to "Save" and get name of the file that was saved

Anyone, especially newbies, asking for help with Photoshop Scripting and Photoshop Automation - as opposed to those contributing to discussion about an aspect of Photoshop Scripting

Moderators: Tom, Kukurykus

themagiczebra

Subscribe to "Save" and get name of the file that was saved

Post by themagiczebra »

Hi there,

I'm new to PS-Scripts and Photoshop scripting in general, so please excuse my noobiness.

I'm working on a NodeJS desktop application that interacts with Photoshop. Users of this app have the ability to click on a button and open a file directly into Photoshop. Once the user has finished editing their photo and saved the changes, my application does some additional processing on the updated file. This processing should only happen if the file was saved in PS, however.

I'm currently using the PhotoshopClient (lib/photoshop.js) class from https://github.com/adobe-photoshop/generator-core to manage the connections, command execution, and event subscription. Through various code samples and documentation, I've learned that you can subscribe to an event via the following command:

Code: Select all

function subscribeToEvent(client, event) {
var s = "var idNS = stringIDToTypeID('networkEventSubscribe');";
s += "var desc1 = new ActionDescriptor();";
s += "desc1.putClass(stringIDToTypeID('eventIDAttr'), stringIDToTypeID('" + event + "'));";
s += "executeAction(idNS, desc1, DialogModes.NO);";
client.sendCommand(s);
}
My app currently listens to the "save" event in order to detect when a document was saved. Here is a sample of that code:

var client = new PhotoshopClient({
hostname: '127.0.0.1',
password: 'passwd'
});

client.on('connect', () => { subscribeToEvent(client, 'save'); });

client.on('event', (messageId, eventName, parsedValue) => {
// handle event
});

client.on('message', (messageId, parsedValue, rawMessage) => {
// handle message
});