Remove copy from layer name

Upload photoshop scripts, download photoshop scripts, discussion and support of photoshop scripts

Moderator: PS-Moderators

Re: Remove copy from layer name

Postby Mike Hale » Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:07 am

The Guv wrote:I did notice that it renames text layers with static text that doesn't update when you edit the content.


I think that is because if you rename a layer the name no longer changes. That same behavior happens if you rename in the GUI as well. It effects type, smart object, and adjustment layers.
Mike Hale
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4337
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:52 pm
Location: USA

Re: Remove copy from layer name

Postby txuku » Thu Feb 24, 2011 6:27 am

Very useful - well done Mike Hale !:)
txuku
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:15 pm
Location: France - Pays Basque

Re: Remove copy from layer name

Postby Addie » Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:52 am

I'm inclined to think the answer to this is "no", but I'm gonna' ask anyway.

When you duplicate a layer in PhotoShop, it creates a new layer with the same name + "copy", and if you duplicate either again, it names amends it with "copy 2" and so-on... is there anyway to NOT add the word "copy" to the end of the duplicated layer?

PhotoShop does allow you to have more than one layer with the same name. When building a website, especially with the navigational elements, I may reuse a layer a couple dozens times. So I end up with "master nav button", "master nav button copy", "master nav button copy 2" ... "master nav button copy 17", etc. When I organize my files to hand them off to coders, I like to have them very organized. Less room for errors. I organize different pages into folders, different components into sub-folders. No layers are ever named "Layer 42", and such. When I do the final clean up before passing assets off, I remove all the "copy 2", "copy 3", "copy 4", and just group them in the appropriate folders with the other elements they relate to.

So... good god is there any way to make it NOT add the word "copy" and the serial numbering to the end of a duplicated layer?

In the unlikely event that someone knows the cure, thank you in advance.
Addie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 7:30 am

Re: Remove copy from layer name

Postby Dreezer » Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:27 am

Dear Mister Hale,
is there any chance the RemoveCopy script will be updated for Photoshop CS6 use?

Please say yes,
A RemoveCopy addict
Dreezer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Remove copy from layer name

Postby Paul MR » Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:53 am

There is no need for a script in Photoshop CS6 you can turn it off in the Layers Palette Options in the Layers Palette.
Paul MR
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:44 pm
Location: Bradford,UK

Re: Remove copy from layer name

Postby Dreezer » Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:49 pm

Damn, didn't know that.
Thanks, Paul!
Dreezer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Remove copy from layer name

Postby Mike Hale » Fri Dec 07, 2012 4:47 pm

That option is was added in CS5. So only CS4 or earlier need this script.

But I guess it could still be useful for dealing with existing documents that do have copy in the name. I can extract the code from the panel so it can be run as a standard script. I don't have CS6 but I don't see any reason it wouldn't run in that version. It's the Configurator panel that will not run in CS6.
Mike Hale
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4337
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:52 pm
Location: USA

Re: Remove copy from layer name

Postby Dreezer » Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:28 am

Hi Mike,
thanks for the advice.
Why I expected an update of the extension for CS6: After installing RemoveCopy for CS4 and moving over to CS5 I didn't think about checking new options in CS5. RemoveCopy did the trick.

It would be very usefull for me using the extracted script on dirty psd files. So if you ever have the time, feel free :)
Dreezer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:54 pm

Previous

Return to Photoshop Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests